How Does An Auto Dealer Apply for a Motor Vehicle Dealer License in Louisiana?
The process for applying for a motor vehicle dealer license in Louisiana is pretty simple. Below are the general guidelines, but dealers should refer to the Requirements Package for details on the process. Dealers should also utilize the UMVC’s FAQ page for more information.
The Louisiana Motor Vehicle Commission requires new and specialty vehicle dealers to post $20,000 surety bonds.
As of August 1, 2016, all used vehicle dealers must post $50,000 surety bonds for 2 year period.
New and used motor vehicle facilities must post $10,000 surety bonds.
License Period – The Louisiana Used Dealer License is valid for two years and expires on December 31st every other year. The Salesperson License must be renewed annually. Louisiana designates the license renewal period by the district.
Districts 1, 2, and 3 renew their license during odd-numbered years (2021, 2023, 2025, etc), and Districts 4 and 5 renew their license in even-numbered years (2020, 2022, 2024, etc). Dealers should examine the UMVC district map featured below to determine their renewal period. See map below
How Much Does the Louisiana Auto Dealer Bond Cost?
The $50,000 Louisiana Motor Vehicle Dealer surety bond can cost anywhere between $450 and up for a two-year term. Insurance companies determine the rate based on a number of factors including your customer’s credit score and experience. We also offer easy interest-free financing for premiums over $500.
Louisiana Dealer License process
All State Bonds Inc. is not directly involved with the licensing process, but we’ve compiled this information which may helpful for you.
State licensing fees and requirements:
$400 application fee
Supporting application documents
Business location and name
All licensing fees, application, documents are required by the obligee to issued the dealer license.